Momity

Somewhere inbetween being a mom & insanity!

Attached To Breastfeeding

If Lyric nurses as long as Raine, it will be over 5 years straight that I have been breastfeeding. Yes, sometimes I just want my nipple back. And I will never forget the time I had six milk blisters at the same time on one from my youngest as a newborn. Or the plugged duct that caused such painful engorgement I couldn’t even sleep on my right side. (Luckily we were tandem nursing then and Raine saved me.) I’ll never forget the rejection and disappointment I felt when my oldest at 9 months went on a nursing strike and even LLL didn’t know what to say. But you know what? I’ll always remember the hilariously adorable look of both my babies smiles while they nursed. Or the little sigh of relief when they finally eat. I’ll always remember looking at them and thinking it’s because of my milk that baby is so chunky! And awkwardly lying in bed with each of them nursing off one side trying to make sure both were getting what they needed. I’ll always remember the comfort and security nursing gave them and the quiet cuddling and bonding time it gave me. Nursing really did help me build a special relationship with my boys.

I’ve never had to wean a child before. Raine just self weaned when he was ready. I can remember the last time he nursed. He was sick and asked in the morning to have “nom-noms” (as we call it). He never cried when he stopped and neither did I. It was so gradual and I think we were both ready. But I’m not sure I realized the significance of that chapter coming to an end because really nursing didn’t end for me. I know it will all hit me when Lyric stops.

I believe I have become attached to it as well. It’s become a part of life now. How bittersweet the end will be…

I’ve only ever heard people wish that they had breastfed longer. Never that they nursed their child too long.

6 Comments»

  Laotian Commotion wrote @

Whoa, boob twinsies! We call it “nom-noms” (more like ‘num-nums’) too! Although, I try to say “nOHm-nOHm” because “nOHm” means boob or milk in Laotian!

Anyway, this is a great post because I love breastfeeding too! Attached at the boob; attached at the heart ❤

  Cassie wrote @

That’s hilarious! I love that it actually means boob or milk! I had no idea! I was just making an eating sound. I don’t feel so strange now knowing you call it that too

  Gina wrote @

I call it milk-milk, but my little guy just signs for it so far. I know I will be sad when it’s over, but since I’m still on my first baby I hope it isn’t anytime soon!

  Cassie wrote @

I have always thought baby sign language was so amazing! I wish I would have done it. Seems like it would make nursing easier too!

  Going Coverless wrote @

My daughter isn’t asking for it yet, she just grapples me with an open mouth and tries to eat any part of me that she can reach. It’s pretty adorable. I still say “nurse” but I’ve been thinking of other things to say–maybe “nom-noms” too.

  Cassie wrote @

That’s always funny! I just heard it means milk or breast in laotian!


Leave a Reply

