Momity

Somewhere inbetween being a mom & insanity!

Expecting sleep

The littlest Dookoos has been a pretty good sleeper for us. Of course in the first two months or so he was waking up to feed about every three hours but those feedings disappeared before I knew it. I found myself getting a full nights sleep with a three month old and oh the difference it makes!

So naturally I started to assume he was going to sleep through the night always. I could have a couple glasses of wine or a drink after the boys were both in bed and not feel guilty. I could go out and not worry about pumping. I stayed up late and didn’t have to even think about getting up in the middle of the night.

Apparently it was too good to be true. He’s back waking up hungry every three or four hours. I’m hoping it’s just a growth spurt or possibly because he’s practicing rolling over in his sleep? I don’t know. What I do know is that I came to expect that sleep and now that it’s changed I find myself more frustrated when dealing with it! I noticed this and didn’t like it. Not a lot of parents get the luxury of a six month old that sleeps through the night unless they have let them cry it out. So I realized I’ve been lucky. I’m letting go of my sleep expectations for my baby. I smiled at him tonight while changing his diaper when he woke up around midnight. Granted I hadn’t fallen asleep yet but it’s funny how a different outlook can change your whole perspective and take the stress out.

I just don’t want to be doing this until he’s one and a half like Raine.

4 Comments»

  amummysviewamummysview wrote @

My daughter has always been a good sleeper and it does knock you for six when they suddenly start waking! You’re not used to it! I too realise I have been very lucky. Hopefully this will just be a growth phase or teeth (I find my daughter wakes a lot when teething) and it will all soon go back to normal! xxx

  Mommadooks wrote @

I’m hoping soon! I’m really missing the sleep!

  Aimee wrote @

Our littlest boy is nearly seven months and just when we think he’s going to start sleeping through he goes back to waking two or three times a night! Very frustrating. Hang in there, you know it doesn’t last forever!
Lovely blog

Aimee x

  Mommadooks wrote @

It can be very frustrating! Thanks for the encourage words!


Leave a Reply

