Momity

Somewhere inbetween being a mom & insanity!

Archive for April 13, 2012

As Long As I’m Living My Baby You’ll Be.

5:45AM the three year old wanders into our bedroom, not an unusual happening. He climbs into our bed, asking for mommy which, for daddys little man, is actually pretty unusual now. I try to cuddle into him but the whining and flailing kid just won’t go back to sleep. I rock him as good as I can lying down but that just won’t do either. Under his breath I hear him ask a question I haven’t heard in months. “Can I have noms?”, he says. It seems so out of the blue! It’s been at least 6 months since he’s nursed. My thoughts yesterday suddenly don’t seem so silly. All signs point to yes! He misses being a baby.

20120413-070330.jpg

We spent a good portion of the day yesterday playing “baby”. His comfort object, a white and green stuffed dog, who we simply call puppy, was the center of most of the fun. He swaddled pup, fed him, burped him, “shh”ed him and took him upstairs to rock him to sleep. I followed shortly after to find him in the glider singing the words “Baby Beluga” over and over to his baby! Just like mommy & daddy used to do to him. I thought this had been long forgotten. It was one of those special moments that you wish you could have caught on camera. I tried to coax him into singing it again, camera ready, but the baby was asleep and ready for the crib. After pup was all tucked in, he asked “Can I be baby?” so into the crib he went.

20120413-070336.jpg

We had played baby many times before, only come bedtime when he asked me to rock him and sing him Baby Beluga did I think may be this is something more. I was more than happy to give him extra snuggles and sing to him like many a nights when he was a little bub. I even felt a bit emotional about it all. I just wonder now that he is reverting back to wanting to nurse, if he’s missing the attachment or comfort. It makes me worry that I’m not providing him with something that he needs. Since he stopped breastfeeding, the quality cuddle time we used to get has gone down durasticly. But it never seemed to bother him even though it bothered me.

Maybe I’m reading too much into it. I’ve read about children wanting to revert back to sippy cups but never literally being a baby. I just don’t want to feel like this is because we’re depriving him of something he needs. I’m going to try to focus part of the day today on all the good things about being a big boy.

20120413-070322.jpg

But if he wants to be a baby, I’ll let him.

20120413-070313.jpg

Has your child ever reverted back to wanting to be a baby? How did you handle it?

Ultimate Blog Party 2012!

Well hello!
I’m so excited to be joining UBP 12!
Ultimate Blog Party 2012

I’m Cassie! A stay-at-home mom to two boys – 3 years and 7 months. They definitly keep me on my toes. I breastfeed. Like most moms, i’ve got to have my coffee. I supplement that addiction with tea so i can sleep at night. Actually, i just tell myself that. I’ve always been a night hawk. If you want to read more about me you can click here!

Momity is fairly new and it’s really just something to do for ME in the wee hours of the night when I just want to sit and do nothing productive. I think I may be addicted.

This is the first event of it’s kind that i’ve ever been in on so I can’t wait to see where it takes me. It will be fun to go though the lists and view some blogs! I’m hopeful that i’ll find some I can relate to.

So, there we go!

Love, love, love!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

