Momity

Somewhere inbetween being a mom & insanity!

The Itchy-Scratchy Fight

We figured the dry itchy red patches were almost inevitable. I have psoriasis and hubs has mild eczema as well as my sister and two of his brothers. The boys didn’t stand a chance!

They reared their ugly heads almost right away with Raine. The Johnson’s baby wash and cream we came to love (for the smell, of course) only seemed to inflame it. Aside from the odd patch here and there, his eczema was mainly concentrated in the bends of his body. Arms, legs, neck. Until the winter after his first birthday. I had never seen it and with a boy that has naturally rosy cheeks, i think it was too late when we realized what was going on. Before we knew it, he had scratched his cheeks RAW. I had no clue what to do! I felt horrible for my poor boy. And to blame. We ran to the doctor who prescribed him a cortisone cream (I think it was about .2% but I can’t say for certain). After a few days of torturing our son with this cream, we noticed a yellowish puss coming from his cheeks! They had gotten infected. Back to the doctor for that banana flavored antibiotic which he actually enjoyed and another prescription.

I religiously read even pamphlet that comes with any medicine and I had never been more happy about this quirk of mine until I read the first few lines of the information sheet from the pharmacist. I threw the tube in the trash so quickly that I didn’t even catch the name nor did I care to. It wasn’t that the medication was not recommended for children under two, no, I understand in some circumstances the benefits out way the risks. It was the fact that the first paragraph was a warning that the medication had been known to cause skin cancer. SKIN CANCER! I was furious. Flabbergasted. Something else that begins with F. I have yet to take my son back there. Instead, on recommendation from my sisters friend whose child had been through the same kind of eczema cheek stress, we sauntered over to The Body Shop for a product called Hemp Balm. At this point, I would have rubbed straight cannabis leaves on his face if I knew it would heal his wittle cheekys. So with the infection gone, we gave the balm a shot. We put it on at night with some struggle and what a difference it made, even by morning! I began to think of it as miracle balm. All the creams we had tried before (Aveeno Baby Eczema Cream, Spectro, Cetaphil) started to sting his skin after awhile but not our miracle balm.

I’m happy to say that I believe he is actually growing out of it. I dread winter for the dry skin it brings but to my surprise only a scatter few patches plagued him this year. I thought we were in the clear. That notion ended a few days ago when I opened Lyrics sleeper to see my old nemesis staring back at me and then just like his brother spread to the chin, neck and (even though I begged not again) his chubby cheeks within days. I had noticed him scratching his chest and now assume itching has been what’s keeping my good sleeper up at night. I had a flashback of the horrible feeling of helplessness watching my baby scratch his face raw and not being able to cure the itch. I brought out the trusted miracle balm and am hoping for one!

20120411-000053.jpg

Here’s to cream three times a day and shorter, lukewarm, nightly baths.

(I was once told that apple juice makes eczema worse. Is there any truth to this? Because little man loves his apple sauce.)

3 Comments»

  The Laotian Commotion wrote @

I may remember reading something about oatmeal baths and ezcema from my crunchy parenting group on Facebook before I deleted my profile.

Look into that as I haven’t heard anything about apple juice though so it wouldn’t hurt to find out more about oatmeal? Good luck, that seems a rough situation :(

  Cassie wrote @

Yes! I’ve heard of that as well! Something to try for sure.

  amummysview wrote @

oh bless him. My friend’s little girl had eczma really bad and I so felt for her, she had mitts on to stop scratching and her skin was wet and weeping, it’s awful for them! I hope he grows out of it a little for you poor little thing. I too remember hearing something about oatmeal somewhere too so worth a try? x


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

